Grease Yaka Returns | Ananda Drama
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-1563,bridge-core-2.5.8,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,no_animation_on_touch,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-24.4,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_bottom,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.6.0,vc_responsive

Grease Yaka Returns

Best Play of the Year
Best Direction, Best Original Script, Best Supporting Actress
and 6 Other Awards at the 47th Annual State Drama Awards


The long anticipated sequel to 2014’s spectacularly successful exploration of the evolution of social fears, Grease Yaka Returns was a black comedy that explored the corrosive effects of those fears.


First staged to an outstanding reception at the Lionel Wendt Theatre from the 17th to the 19th of August 2018, Grease Yaka Returns was entered into the State Drama Festival.


One of 30 plays selected to the semifinal round, the play was performed again on the 14th of January 2019 with several new cast members, at the Western Province Aesthetic Resort, and again at the Elphinstone theatre in Maradana on 27th February, having entered the final alongside 10 other plays in the Sinhala Medium – Long Play category.


At the 47th annual State Drama Festival Award Ceremony held at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Nelum Pokuna Theatre on 27th March 2019, Grease Yaka Returns emerged triumphant, winning the awards for:

  • Best Play
  • Best Direction (Rajitha Hettiarachchi and Nishantha de Silva)
  • Best Original Script (Rajitha Hettiarachchi and Nishantha de Silva)
  • Best Supporting Actress (Ayudhya Gajanayake)
  • Best Stage Management (Rajitha Hettiarachchi)
  • Best Choreography (Jayampathi Guruge)
  • Best Make Up (Jayampathi Guruge with Sumedha Hakgalla Vijitha Bandara)
  • Best Costumes (Dinusha Seneviratne)
  • Best Lighting (Jayampathi Guruge)
  • Commendation for Set Design (Jayampathi Guruge)


The play was staged once again on the 7th of July 2019 at the Lionel Wendt Theatre to a tremendous reception, and again on the 8th of August 2019 at the Elphinstone Theatre, Maradana, as part of the 8th Colombo International Theatre Festival.


In February 2020, Grease Yaka Returns was invited to perform at the prestigious 21st Bharat Rang Mahotsav, Asia’s largest international theatre festival, which is organised by India’s National School of Drama.


The play received a tremendous reception at its two performances, first on the 6th of February at the Abhimanch Theatre, National School of Drama, in Delhi, and on then on the 8th of February in the city of Dehradun, Uttarakhand.


Print Media Partner

Sunday Times and the Daily Mirror



The Opportunists

Abheeth Kotelawala

Ayudhya Gajanayake

Charith Dissanayake

Eraj Gunewardena

Nandun Dissanayake

Pemanthi Fernando

Rithmaka Karunadhara

Thilakshi Mallawa Arachchi

Thilina Udayaratne


The Students

Kalana – Joshua Perera  |  Leeth Singhage

Sahani – Amaya Fernando  |  Eshani Seneviratne

Arun – Vidura Manoratne  |  Lakshitha Edirisinghe


The Family

Charini – Dinoo Wickramage  |  Thilakshi Mallawa Arachchi

Kanthi – Dmitri Gunatilake


The Couple

Kishan – Chalana Wijesuriya

Arukshi – Tasmin Anthonisz  |  Ashini Fernando


The Government Servants

Manjula – Gavin Ranasinghe

Hansani – Jayavi Jayawardhana  |  Pemanthi Fernando

Supun – Lithmal Jayawardhana  |  Vidura Manoratne

Shriya – Sabrina Niles



Avishka Dedigama

Dasuni Jayawardena

Hasala Madugalle

Hasini Jayawardena

Malith Fernando

Nimsara Premaratne

Nimuthu Nimsith

Ruchika Seneviratne

Shehan Pieris

Seth Ganepola

Amandhi Kulathilake

Chantal Dassanayake

Hiruni Herath

Rumashi Dissanayake

Malith Kulathilake



Jayindu Perera

Okitha Karunadhara

Ramindu Aryasinghe

Savindu Chandeepa

Sineth Kulathilake


With Guest Performers

Aarsh Singh (Delhi)

Aman Singh (Delhi)

Aarav Malhotra (Dehradun)

Abhinav Parashar (Dehradun)

Creative Team


Written and Directed by

Rajitha Hettiarachchi

Nishantha de Silva


Designed and Choreographed by

Jayampathy Guruge


Music and Sound Design by

Ranil Goonewardena


Costumes by

Dinu Seneviratne


Props by

Sanath Bandara


Stage Management by

Rajitha Hettiarachchi

Rithmaka Karunadhara


Production Team

Piumi Wijesundara

Pramila Samarakoon

Shevandra Wijemanne

Madura Wijeratne

Vinura Kularatne

Nandika Thevarapperuma

Ravin Hettiarachchi

Lakshitha Edirisinghe

Gavin Ranasinghe

Thilina Udayaratne

Abheeth Kotalawela

Malith Kulathilake

Rithmaka Karunadhara


Touring Production Crew

Pemanthi Fernando

Ishtartha Wellaboda

Lakshitha Edirisinghe

Rithmaka Karunadhara


Produced by

Nishantha de Silva