Inter House Drama Competition AnandaDrama
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-902,page-child,parent-pageid-669,bridge-core-3.2.0,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-30.6.1,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_bottom,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-7.7.2,vc_responsive

S A Wijayatilake Memorial Inter House Drama Competition

Inaugurated in 2014, the Inter House Drama Competition (IHDC) is one of the main avenues through which new talent is identified. It also exposes hundreds of students to the joys of theatre. It is open to students from Year 6 and up.


Named in memory of one of Ananda’s great past Principals and renowned English scholar Mr. S. A. Wijayatilake, the IHDC is held at the Kularatne Hall in front of students from the middle school, most of whom are exposed to English theatre for the first time. The plays on show are originals written and directed by AnandaDrama’s senior students and young alumni, and the competition is judged by reputed theatre personalities.


Past Champions

2019 – Parakrama (directed by Pankaja Kulatunga)

2018 – Asoka (directed by Nandun Dissanayake)

2017 – Gamunu (directed by Chirantha Kolonne)

2016 – Asoka (directed by Pankaja Kulatunga)

2015 – Gamunu (directed by Vinu Wijemanne)

2014 – Parakrama (directed by Tharkana Kulatunga)


Past Runners Up

2019 – Vijaya (directed by Nimsara Premaratne)

2018 – Parakrama (directed by Lakshitha Edirisinghe)

2017 – Vijaya (directed by Gavin Ranasinghe)

2016 – Vijaya (directed by Nimsara Premaratne)

2015 – Parakrama (directed by Vinura Kularatne)

2014 – Asoka (directed by Rajitha Hettiarachchi)


Best Actor

2019 – Swethaka Wijewardana (Gamunu)

2018 – Nimsara Premaratne (Vijaya)

2017 – Rithmaka Karunadhara (Gamunu)

2016 – Pankaja Kulatunga and Jayindu Perera (both Asoka)

2015 – Rasanga Rathugamage (Parakrama)

2014 – Sunath Renuja (Parakrama)


Best Supporting Actor

2019 – Sineth Kulathilake (Vijaya)

2018 – Pankaja Kulatunga (Asoka) and Sineth Kulathilake (Vijaya)

2017 – Nimsara Premaratne (Vijaya)

2016 – Ramindu Aryasinghe and Nimsara Premaratne (both Vijaya)

2015 – Rithmaka Karunadhara (Gamunu)

2014 – Jithnuka Thenuwara (Vijaya)


Best Actor in a Female Role

2019 – Savindu Chandeepa (Gamunu)

2018 – Okitha Karunadhara (Asoka)

2017 – Haritha Dheegodagamage (Gamunu)

2016 – Not Awarded

2015 – Hiyan Methmil (Gamunu)

2014 – Rithmaka Karunadhara (Gamunu)


Best Script

2019 – Hiru Wijemanne (Parakrama)


Best Director

2019 – Pankaja Kulatunga (Parakrama)