Comedy of Errors AnandaDrama
portfolio_page-template-default,single,single-portfolio_page,postid-1540,bridge-core-3.0.9,qode-page-transition-enabled,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1300,side_area_uncovered_from_content,qode-theme-ver-30.1,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_bottom,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-7.3,vc_responsive

Comedy of Errors

After the previous year’s Championship win, an air of expectation surrounded Ananda’s entry to the Inter School Shakespeare Drama Competition in 2018.


Rehearsals began just three weeks prior to the semi finals. Continuing the trend for more physical theatre that had begun earlier in the year with The Education Games, the Comedy of Errors was conceived as Ananda’s first production at this competition to employ a live set.


This dedicated team of young actors ably supported outstanding performances from the actors in speaking roles, helping Ananda win the award for Best Stagecraft at the competition for the first time. Rithmaka Karunadhara, with his excellent portrayal of Dromio, deservedly won the Award for Best Supporting Actor.


Ananda emerged from a highly contested semi final featuring 18 other Boys’ schools  as serious contenders for the Championship. However, at a final adjudicated by just two judges who made no comment on the performances, D. S. Senanayake College emerged victorious.


Malith Kulathilake

Aaditha Edirisinghe

Dehan Godallage

Seth Ganepola

Rithmaka Karunadhara

Pankaja Kulatunga

Nimsara Premaratne

Malith Fernando

Hasala Madugalle

Adheesha Paranagama

Thisen Wijesinghe

Deelaka Wickramasinghe

Haritha Dheegodagamage

Thejana de Silva

Hiru Wijemanne

Sathindu Vidhyadee

Jayindu Perera

Ramindu Aryaratne

Okitha Karunadhara

Sineth Kulathilake

Directed by

Rajitha Hettiarachchi

Nandun Dissanayake


Production Team

Ishtartha Wellaboda

Eraj Gunawardena

Charith Dissanayake

Nandun Dissanayake

Lithmal Jayawardhana

Thilina Udayaratne

Lakshitha Edirisinghe

Gavin Ranasinghe

Madura Wijeratne

Nandika Thevarapperuma

Ravin Hettiarachchi

Sujitha Wijewantha